Miru Kim’s Naked City Spleen

Click Here:  Miru Kim’s Naked City Spleen

Revere Sugar Factory, Red Hook, Brooklyn, NY, USA  As I started venturing out in 2005 to neighborhoods with industrial ruins, I immediately fell in love with Red Hook. The Revere Sugar Factory is the first abandoned factory I entered alone. After seeing its giant dome in a Brooklyn waterfront tour video, I hopped on the F train to Smith 9th street, a stop at which I had never gotten off before. Walking in the general direction of the waterfront, I came across deserted parks, housing projects, giant empty grain silos, and 19th-century brick warehouses. It was no wonder that Al Capone started out in that very neighborhood as a small-time criminal and got the wound that lead to his nickname, “Scarface.” It was a late afternoon, and the silence of the streets made me apprehensive. Walking along Beard Street, I saw an abandoned warehouse with a small hole in the fence I could barely fit through. Only after some minutes of being inside did I realize I was already in the six-acre sugar factory complex.

Revere Sugar Factory, Red Hook, Brooklyn, NY, USA
As I started venturing out in 2005 to neighborhoods with industrial ruins, I immediately fell in love with Red Hook. The Revere Sugar Factory is the first abandoned factory I entered alone. After seeing its giant dome in a Brooklyn waterfront tour video, I hopped on the F train to Smith 9th street, a stop at which I had never gotten off before. Walking in the general direction of the waterfront, I came across deserted parks, housing projects, giant empty grain silos, and 19th-century brick warehouses. It was no wonder that Al Capone started out in that very neighborhood as a small-time criminal and got the wound that lead to his nickname, “Scarface.” It was a late afternoon, and the silence of the streets made me apprehensive. Walking along Beard Street, I saw an abandoned warehouse with a small hole in the fence I could barely fit through. Only after some minutes of being inside did I realize I was already in the six-acre sugar factory complex.

Leave a Reply

